The Best Laid Schemes O’ Mice An’ Men


I was really hoping to be back in the swing of things by now. Definitely at least back in the gym. Alas, that’s not really happening yet. My ankle is starting to heal up much faster than it has been over the first six weeks or so (which were effectively stagnant healing and constant pain). The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley.

So it’s time to set new goals. By the beginning of next week I’m hoping to have manageable enough pain that I can start back at judo with a brace as long as I avoid foot sweeps. It feels like a lofty goal given that it’s just a few days away, but it would make me feel better about a lot of stuff. When you’re stressed and anxious and can’t even go wrestle there’s just a lot of Weltschmerz. Exercising is great for helping to cope with stress.

So that’s the hope, and with a little luck we’ll see where I am on Tuesday to see if it’s a possibility. The kind of shitty thing will be the fact that the judo rules severely disadvantage a player who can only do hip and hand throws. Most of the good backwards hand throws are illegal now and if there’s only one direction you can attack you become insanely easy to shut down. I’m sure I can figure something out for that.

5 thoughts on “The Best Laid Schemes O’ Mice An’ Men

    • Thanks for the well-wishes. It looks like with some bracing I can start throws again tomorrow.

      Let me know how the sledgehammer workout goes for you. It’s been a great workout that I can do in a few minutes every day.

      • Pretty good – only dropped it on my bare foot once so far!

        Doing the smaller exercises for now, I have yet to badger one of the local farmers to see if one of them has a some spare tires.

  1. Update on the sledgehammer work. I haven’t really been doing an actual workout with it – still no tire to hit – but I have been doing levering exercises with somewhat acceptable regularity, usually 2 or 3 sets of 10 two or three times a week.

    I first suspected that my grip had improved while defending an armbar during BJJ. Despite significant lactic acid buildup due to the levering training, my trainer was unable to pry it loose. The second sign was being able to hold onto kumi kata during Judo despite very solid efforts to break my grip. Both of these were, however, not measurable. Out of curiousity, I went for something easily measurable today, and decided to do my deadlift routine with double overhand grip. The results blew my mind, my previous 1 rep max with double overhand grip was 180kg. Narrowly failed 200kg today – so narrow a failure that I’m positive I’d have gotten it if I had saved my grip for the effort instead of working my way up along (short) sets of 160-180-190kg. That’d be a PR by 20kg, no less than a 10% increase.

    In short, your recommending sledgehammer work totally made my day.

    • I’m very glad to hear that. I’ve seen similar improvements with grip fighting and closing heavy duty hand grippers. It’s growing into one of my favorite exercises because of the simplicity and great results.

Leave a Reply

