The Decline


Even though I do classes twice per week I’m out of shape. I’ve gotten into the habit of slow-rolling which means I’m rarely, if ever, pushing myself the way I need to. Tuesday I went with Brian, a great guy and a solid jiujitsero, and I’m still sore from it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not unhealthily obese yet or anything, but there’s pudge where there used to be abs and pull-ups are exhausting when they used to be easy mode.

So I’ve decided to do something about the decline that I’ve been experiencing pretty much since I stopped training for tournaments: outside of class exercise. Starting this weekend I’m going to be trying to do tabata style workouts with sets of burpees. Real burpees. The kind where you jump and do push-ups. Not the kind where you just sprawl and stand back up.

Anyway, I’ll try to document if it helps. Since wedding season is upon us and I have work trips I’m out of class almost entirely for the next couple weeks so here’s to hoping this at least keeps me from falling further out of shape.

3 thoughts on “The Decline

  1. Ugh, don’t get me started. I go to class like 4 times a week and I’m still a porker. Say what you will about spazzy whitebelts, they must be burning tons of calories.

    Anyways, I’m not sure what the best way to get in touch with you is so I’m leaving this comment. My name’s Stephen Kim and I’ve been working on a website for the past year with a buddy called http://www.bjjcollective.com. Basically we crawl youtube for good technique videos and organize them all. The goal is to make a community based technique database that’s free for anyone. Anyways, we have about 14,500 videos right now that are super organized into about 750 categories accessed through a UI. The idea is to be able to pinpoint the move you are looking for.

    We’d love it if you took a look and told us what you think. It’s sort of a work in progress and we want to keep improving it through community feedback.

    Our facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/bjjcollective if you want to contact us there also.

    Sorry, I’m not trying to advertise in your comments or anything so please feel free to take this comment down after you read it. I hope I hear from you.

    • I saw this on LockFlow the other day, but haven’t gotten a chance to check it out. I’ll contact you relatively soon (I’m on business trips for awhile).

      • Thank you, Drew. We’ve been spending the last month cleaning it up a bit and adding additional videos. Looking forward to your feedback.

Leave a Reply

