Once you’ve wrestled…


Tanner posted this today on Twitter. Take a read through it, it’s an opinion piece about how wrestlers make the best employees.

I disagree with it. Let’s just get that out there right now. I think the article leaves out a lot of stuff that needs to be considered and oversimplifies a very complex issue. Not everyone who wrestles, even at an “elite level” would make a good employee. There are plenty of guys and gals I know from the gym that I would never want to work with professionally.

I think more interesting is the quote at the end though. “Once you’ve wrestled, everything else in life is easy.” If only. Competing in grappling bestows upon one a certain level of mental and physical toughness. We overcome exhaustion, hunger, and pain. But there are definitely things I’ve had to do in life which were harder than missing a few meals or walking on a broken foot. Overcoming my nerves to compete in front of a few thousand people would always be preferred over trying to overcome my nerves to talk to even twenty strangers. I’d take an overly-personal physical confrontation or a workout in 100*F heat any day over trying to deal with customers. A match has a defined beginning and end with clear goals and expectations. Life doens’t have a rule book updated regularly by FILA. Interactions with people off the mat don’t always have a clear “I won” or “I lost” end.

Maybe it’s just me, but compared to life, wrestling is a piece of cake.

Leave a Reply

