Times They Are a-Changin’


I’ve missed class a lot recently. Mostly due to work trips to Chicagoland. Getting married was somewhat of a return to normalcy for me, but work and homeownership are serious time commitments that very frequently get in the way of training.

I came back to find out that my judo coach is leaving for Stockholm. Next Tuesday after class we’re heading down to the Union to celebrate the three years the club’s been open and to say goodbye. I’m not really sure what the future of the club is, especially with regards to my involvement. That means a lot of things. I don’t know if as the second highest level ground player I’ll have to pick up groundwork when Junior is late or absent. I don’t know if the promotion to brown discussed months ago will happen. I don’t know how I feel about not having Anders’ style of training.

There’s only one judo club in Madison. The name is “Judo and Jiu-Jitsu Club of Madison”, but next week I’ll be the highest ranked jujitsu practitioner there and all that will be left is competition judo and one BJJ black belt.

Leave a Reply

