Pinched Nerve


I started up last week and then just as abruptly had to take a break – I pinched a nerve in my neck. So tonight will be my return yet again.

I’ve also started on building my own mat. I have the foam from Wisconsin Foam Products Inc. for the sprung floor in my basement already, this weekend I’ll be going to get the 2×6’s, OSB, adhesive, and hardware for the actual floor, and I’ve already ordered a 12’x12′ mat from Swain/Dollamur. The highlights: the foam isn’t what I was expecting, all of the OSB needs to be cut (which means by me), and dealing with Swain/Dollamur via phone is a nightmare.

Simple tips to make your floor-building process more simple if you chose to do it:

  1. If you’re going to go through Swain/Dollamur and you’re not a school, just order online. Calling isn’t worth it. If you are a school and you have to call to get custom sizing, know exactly what you want already. They’re good about answering sizing questions, but you’ll have to know what you’re looking for. On the up/down side they don’t try to up-sell at all so you won’t know about that sealing kit for the more expensive tape.
  2. Some places will give you free cuts if you’re buying OSB/plywood from them. If the cut isn’t up to your standards you still bought the wood. Just do it yourself.
  3. You might be tempted to build your mats all the way out to the wall, especially if your room is perfectly truncated to exact feet. Consider leaving room for some wall mats to go in in the future.
  4. Wisconsin Foam has two policies which surprised me initially – there’s a $100 minimum and they cut all orders +/- 10%. I was going to order 150 blocks, I have 176. They were a great company to work with, and I’m super glad I have the extra foam just in case. On a more specific note, if you’re in Madison you can avoid shipping costs by just driving to pick it up, it’s on the East Side.

So, all in all, I have no idea if/when my Swain/Dollamur mats/tape/sealing kit will be here, but whenever they arrive, I’ll be ready with a sprung floor.

Leave a Reply

