A Welcome Guest


Today we had a visiting purple belt, Eric Markov – I need to tell Junior he says hi. Eric has a solid game. I enjoy the visiting purple belts because they push me. If you want to be the guy who wins all the time, you’re going to have to spend a lot of time being the guy who loses all the time first. It’s important to me to lose to a lot of different games. It’s important to me to learn a lot of different games. Wade is a Marcello black belt, Junior is an LCCT black belt, Eric’s under Alliance. I feel pretty privileged to get to work with three different associations.

We also got some interest after class today. A young man who just got back from basic is looking to increase his grappling knowledge because he’s done some MACP. Seems like a good guy. I’m digging how much faster Lodi is growing than Madison was.

Notes from rolling:

  • I need to figure out how to not get in the wrong end of side control or how to better get out. One of the two.
  • Putting my knee up might keep me safe from the triangle and arm-bar, but Eric was hitting the scissor sweep like crazy. A better base is needed on my part.
  • The turtle is not the safe haven I’m so used to it being. Eric demolished it.
Leave a Reply

