The Future


I used to train eight times per week. I’m down to three.

When I started judo I wanted to compete at least four times per year. I’m missing tournaments right and left for work and wedding preparations.

I have no aspirations to be one of the greatest grapplers. I don’t even care to be National level good. I’d just like to be good enough.

The minimum time in rank for blue to purple is two years, purple to brown is 1.5, brown to black is one. Given that the minimum time in rank for white to blue is one year and it took me 3.5 but I also have a jujitsu, judo, and wrestling background chances are pretty good I’ll get to purple in 2-2.5 years. I can expect to be ready for a black belt in maybe 6-10 years…

The minimum time in rank for judo is a lot smaller, but again, I’ve met minimum total time for nikkyu already. I hope to get sankyu this spring. I could hope to be ready for black in another 3 years.

Anytime someone gets their black belt the first thing I’m always asked by guys who don’t know them is, “Are they really a black belt though?”. The guys who get their BJJ black in six years usually aren’t (I have met exceptions, I’m training under one). Those who get their judo black in six years usually are.

The requirements are different. The expected skill level is different. When I think of the level of skill people expect from a “legit” BJJ black belt it’s the level you’d really expect from a nidan or sandan in judo. When I think of the guys who have their black belt in judo, they don’t really bother testing for nidan or sandan. Minimum time for a shodan (1st black) is 4.5 years. Minimum time for a nidan (2nd black) is 7.5 years. Minimum time for a shodan is 11.5 years. My judo instructor has been training jujitsu/judo since 1987. I wasn’t even born then. He’s still a shodan (1st black). He’s been a blue belt in BJJ as long as I’ve been training with him (2.5 years).

Time is relative. My judo coach got his first black belt (jujitsu) in 1993. The head of my BJJ Association got his BJJ black belt in 1999. Rank is silly.

Leave a Reply

